• May 18, 2022

Is Deathtouch Only Combat Damage?

Is Deathtouch only combat damage? The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with deathtouch to be destroyed applies to any damage, not just combat damage.

How does Deathtouch work in MTG?

Deathtouch is an ability keyword in Magic: The Gathering. Whenever a creature with deathtouch deals any amount of damage to another creature it is enough to destroy it, regardless of the other creature's toughness.

Does Deathtouch cancel Deathtouch?

There's nothing in the rules about deathtouch cancelling out. They might be confused by "702.2f. Multiple instances of deathtouch on the same object are redundant.".

Can you regenerate Deathtouch?

You can regenerate from Deathtouch by paying the regeneration cost. If a creature blocking or blocked by a creature with Deathtouch is dealt enough combat damage to destroy it, its controller does not have to pay regeneration costs twice to keep it alive.

Does First Strike negate Deathtouch?

Deathtouch only "works" when the deathtouch creature deals at least one point of damage, so if the first strike creature deals enough damage to kill the deathtoucher, then it dies before dealing any damage. So in that sense, yes, it negates it.


Related faq for Is Deathtouch Only Combat Damage?


What happens if two creatures have Deathtouch?

If a creature with deathtouch and another creature both block or are blocked by a creature, the other creature may take into account the fact that any combat damage dealt by a creature with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage.


Does Deathtouch stack?

You have to give your creature deathtouch before combat damage, or it won't be able to kill the attacker. As the stack works first in -> last out, Collision goes on top of Bladebrand, and Collision resolves first.


Does Dolmen Gate stop Deathtouch?

Dolmen Gate only prevents damage to your attacking creatures, not your blocking creatures. No damage is prevented here. An attacking creature would survive being blocked by a creature with deathtouch since the creature with deathtouch doesn't deal any damage.


Does Deathtouch work with pinging?

Deathtouch Pingers combines deathtouch with the ability to ping something for one damage. Cards like Fire Whip can give any creature the ability to ping, and since creatures with deathtouch kill whatever creature they do at least one damage to


Does Lifelink work on Planeswalkers?

You will gain life by attacking a planeswalker with a creature that has lifelink. More generally, any damage source with lifelink will cause you to gain life if it deals damage to anything.


Can you sacrifice and regenerate a creature?

1) Regeneration only works when a permanent is destroyed, or dealt lethal damage. It's not possible to regenerate from a sacrifice, because it doesn't use the word "destroy".


Does Deathtouch work with 0 power?

If a creature with deathtouch has zero power, it can't deal damage and thus cannot destroy an attacking or blocking creature. Spells that reduce a creature's power to zero or turn it into a creature with zero power can be effective answers to deathtouch.


What is Deathtouch magic?

Deathtouch is a static ability that causes any damage dealt to a creature by a source with it to be considered lethal damage. Advertisement.


What is Hexproof in Magic The Gathering?

702.11c "Hexproof" on a player means "You can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control." A permanent with hexproof can still be the target or spells or abilities controlled by that permanent's controller or that player's teammates. The same is true for a player with hexproof.


How does Deathtouch work with multiple blockers?

Moving on to combat. If a creature with deathtouch is blocked by multiple creatures, the declare blockers step works the same way. When it comes time to assign combat damage, a player can divide damage from a creature with deathtouch as he or she chooses among any of the creatures blocking or blocked by it.


Does trample damage go through Deathtouch?

Deathtouch does not hinder the use of trample. It has no interaction whatever.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.