• May 27, 2022

Are Enchantment Auras Permanents?

Are enchantment auras permanents? Auras are indeed permanent cards. The only card types that do not count as permanent cards are instant and sorcery.

Is an enchantment a sorcery?

Enchantments and artifacts aren't spells when they're in play: they're permanents. They aren't spells when they're in their hand, they're enchantment cards and artifact cards.

Do enchantments go away?

An enchantment is a permanent. See rule 303, “Enchantments.” See also Aura. 303.1. A player who has priority may cast an enchantment card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty.

Is an enchantment a spell magic?

Casual. Except for land, all of the original basic kind of card (summons, enchantments, sorceries, instants, interrupts and artifacts) are spells from the time they are cast until they resolve.

Is enchanting a creature targeting it?

When you're casting the enchantment as a spell, yes. When the enchantment is brought into play in some other way, no. (Note that while hexproof and shroud only prevent targeting, protection prevents enchanting specifically.


Related guide for Are Enchantment Auras Permanents?


Is an enchantment a Noncreature spell?

If you cast an Instant, Sorcery, Enchantment, Artifact, or Planeswalker (that is not also a creature, in the case of Enchantments and Artifacts), that is a noncreature spell.


Are auras destroyed?

If the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield, the Aura is put into its owner's graveyard. So: creature goes away, aura dies, nice and simple, whether the creature was destroyed, exiled, bounced back to its owner's hand, or stuck back in its owner's library.


Are permanents spells?

Permanent: Once they're on the battlefield, they're instead called permanents. A permanent is any card (or token) on the battlefield. Land: Lands are permanents, but they are never spells. Playing a land is a special action and does not use the stack.


Do enchantments have summoning sickness?

Although all permanents experience Summoning Sickness, only Creatures, Artifact Creatures, Land Creatures, planeswalker creatures and Enchantment Creatures (or Land, Artifacts, planeswalkers or Enchantments that have become creatures) are affected by Summoning Sickness.


Are creature abilities spells?

Creatures are spells while they are on the stack. However, if they have any triggered abilities as the result of being cast (such as Emrakul) or entering the battlefield (such as Ashen Rider) those are not spells; they are abilities.


Do aura cards target?

113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”).


What do enchantments do in MTG?

An enchantment represents a stable magical manifestation. An enchantment is a permanent. This means two things: You can cast one only at the time you could cast a sorcery, and after you cast one, you'll put it on the table in front of you, near your lands.


Are Planeswalkers legendary permanents?

Planeswalkers are permanents. All planeswalkers have supertype "legendary" and are subject to the "legend rule". Planeswalkers with the same subtypes can exist under your control as long as they are not of the same name.


Are all MTG cards spells?

All cards are cards in your hand, in exile, in the library, and in the graveyard. On the stack, everything but lands are spells [lands are never on the stack], and on the battlefield, they are permanents. Any non-land card he actually casts with the type "Elf", is an Elf spell.


What happens if you copy a mutated creature?

Cloning a mutated creature copies all the existing mutations

This is a copiable effect whose timestamp is the time the objects merged. (See rule 613.2.) And mutate, the effect causing the permanents to merge, modifies the characteristics to include the rules text of the other objects.


What happens if you bounce a mutated creature?

Sometimes the creature you are using as a Mutate target becomes an illegal target while your Mutate spell is on the stack. This will happen usually through being bounced to your hand or destroyed. If this happens, then the creature on the stack that you cast for its Mutate cost will still enter the battlefield.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.